B1- Week 8 – Zine

This week our hands-on project was to create a zine or flip book. In high school I actually had the opportunity to make a few flip books, which are cool because even with the most minimal drawing skills, the animation always looks good. Yet, since I don’t have experience with making zines I decided to push my boundaries and try to create one.  Initially my hardest obstacle was figuring out what subject to write about. After much deliberation I decided to make a zine talking to my own brain. This decision came from an incident I actually experienced two weeks ago. While studying for midterms I overstretched my time and slept a about 3 hours before my test. I thought I did horrible on the procedures, however when we got the test back I saw that I had all the procedures correct, but I miscalculated 2 equations that gave me six wrong answers. Taking a closer look at the work I realized my error, for (15*1), I wrote 16; and for (10*2), I wrote 12. I took a deep breath and began laughing at myself. My brain took a big fart during the test, and it was not my knowledge that dismayed me but rather it was my lack of sharpness due to lack of sleep. My friend told me “It be your own mind”, and that is what I named my zine. It is me reminding my brain, all of the simple stuff it should remember everyday, without being reminded, yet after seeing my computations, my brain may need to reminders.

Page 1 – Brain wake up, P.2 – Brain think, P.3 – Stay awake, P.4 – Eat nutrients from my body, P.5 – listen to your receptors, P.6 – Remember to listen to what I say!!!, P.7 – Do you remember how to add?

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close